Smartphone car mount via cup holder

In the F20/F21 1-Series BMW choose to implement the cup holder „blind hole“ style instead of using some fancy, overegineered folding mechanics. And that’s fine.

They also include inserts for the two holes in front of the gear lever. And as I have to use my smartphone to navigate from time to time it suggested itself to design an own insert for this.

A quick search shows: It suggested itself not only to me. ^^

As I had some special requirements I had a go on it via Tinkercad. The design process involved a lot of scaling and pushing shapes around – not the kind of work you want to do with OpenSCAD.

Zwischenablage02

You can find the model at https://tinkercad.com/things/54E3HUMQNUr, right besides my Dashcam (Transcend DrivePro 200) mount.

To keep printing time on the Sumpod below eight hours required support was implemented manually:

Diese Diashow benötigt JavaScript.

To reduce the „elephant foot“ I could also have added a chamfer at the bottom, but to keep the print from failing I printed with „brim“ anyway. So I didn’t.

The first print came off ahead of time, but assured hitting the right size. The second one caused unneccessary trouble with the cable routing and covered the keys below the display, but the third version turned out to be quite good. I had to carve away a bit at the plug of the old µUSB-cable away in this version, but on Tinkercad the hole is already enlarged. 😉

So there it is: Designed to accomodate my Asus ZenFone 2 (ZE551ML / Z00_AD) in that crappy looking case from eBay. The plug for charging is hot melted in place. You can stow away the cable in the hollow part – and having a longer cable absolutely makes sense, if you use the mount in another car’s cup holder.

As the ZenFone is quite big it may not fit everywhere, but it already worked in an Audi A4 „B7“ (2005). Here is how it fits into the Beemer:

 

A hint on using Tinkercad, e.g. if you want to modify or take over (parts) of my design to adapt them to your needs: You have to accept third party cookies (from Autodesk) to log in properly.

And I missed „dependencies“ in the design process. But that would overcomplicate this intentionally simple tool, I guess.

 

Kommentar verfassen

